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The Journey to Simple Passive Cashflow

 

The Journey to SPC – Episode 1 – 2018.06.14@$5,400/Mo

Get the uncut version by signing up for the Hui Deal Pipeline Club

Side topics:

Getting frustrated at W2

What are we talking about “Metric?”

What I don’t like about engineers

New Podcasts & Articles:

Not ‘Faux’ News [Lane’s Real Talk]:

  • May Yardi Report – LinkU.S. multifamily rents rose $4 to $1,381 in May. This represents a 2% year-over-year increase but a 50-basis-point decline from April, as new deliveries took a toll on occupancy rates and growth.

I don’t care about politics but lets understand what’s happening…

Everyone saw Trump shaking hands with KJO from North Korea

For nearly 20 years, U.S. foreign policy has been dominated by military campaigns in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Fighting two wars made it necessary to make deals with other nations to secure key strategic military placement (ie bases in Turkey).

Everything is connected and when you become aware of this the world’s events make sense.

Turkey attacked the Kurds because they knew the U.S. would value the air bases in Turkey over supporting the Kurds.

Russia annexed Crimea because they knew we wouldn’t intervene militarily (Obama would not send more troops).

China built island naval bases in order to expand their military presence.

When the cat’s away the mice play…

Seeing the end game, Russia seized Crimea because they correctly calculated that Obama would not put U.S. troops into yet another battlefield.

Trump’s policy is more independent and less reliant on other countries.

When Saudi Arabia recently petitioned the U.S. for military support, Trump told them to pay for it.

When the UN voted against U.S. agendas, Trump told them that the U.S. would review the support and money it gives to countries that consistently work against the U.S.

One could describe this as hardball. It works in a lot of real estate deals when the winner is the party that is willing to walk away first. Who knows if it will work in world politics???

Right now the US economics look good and rents continue to raise at a steady pace (although not expected to mimic the growth in 2014-2016).

Although we all shake our heads at stories like this…

Call it a flashback but Subprime mortgages are bank except with a new name, “non-prime.”

“allow … borrowers to have FICO credit scores as low as 500 … can take out loans of up to $1.5 million … can also do cash-out refinances … up to $500,000. Recent credit events, like a foreclosure, bankruptcy or a history of late payments are acceptable.”

Other stories remind us of the big picture…

Trump signs bipartisan bill rolling back some Dodd-Frank bank regulations – Los Angeles Times, 5/24/18

“Community banks, which enjoy broad support among Republicans and Democrats, will be freed from Dodd-Frank’s mortgage rules if they make fewer than 500 mortgages a year.”

This unraveling of Dodd-Frank with make lending easier, which is awesome for real estate investors.

Interest rates:

 

Link to Hui’ Google Drive – Treasure Trove of Real Estate Investing Goodies!

 

Hacking my 6 needs

  1. Growth: Revamped my messaging to you. I will start doing these monthly tailored messages.

 

New initiative: Per the advice of my new health advisor (who said “my VO2 max sucks”) I an starting the day with 5-10 rounds of high intensity calisthenics to get my heart rate over 140 bpm. This should be done in 5 minutes and continue in the fasted state after. Recently I paid for a health MD. It’s cool because he took my blood biomarkers, did a DNA sample, and gave me a supplement plan. We get together and chat about how things are going with Dex scans and VO2 max readings (think Gatorade commercials with Lance Armstrong with the mask on while biking). It cost a couple thousand dollars but I figure it can’t hurt. Your health is wealth. He sold me when he said “MD’s are normally idiots” (He is an MD himself).

 

Morning time supplements:

Simplepassivecashflow/latte

Vitamin D3 – 5000iu

Omega 3 – 2g

Vitamin K2 – 1g

Alpha Liponic Acid – 1

Multivitamin – 3

DHEA – 1

CoQ10 – 1

Zanthosyn (Astaxanthin) – 12mg

Anastrozole – 0.5mg

 

Evening time supplements:

Melatonin – 3mg – PM

Zinc Magnesium – 2g

Zanthosyn (Astaxanthin) – 12mg

2. Contribution: I interviewed four candidates for a job. I don’t know if I will work with any of them but I feel like I definitely helped them get where they need to go. Apply here.

3. Significance: Mailing out 160 books (email me for final twenty) and spoke at two events and gave out books there. I also wrote my first Forbes article.

4. Uncertainty: Doing a syndication in a new area in a new partnership. Finishing up two flips (38k & 21k) in Atlanta and will put on market $oon.

5. Certainty: I got bonus depreciation on my K1 and got first distribution checks from Syndications per plan. Also got paid back on a 2nd lien private money loan I did on a flip. And replenished money back into investinahp.com right before the 12% fund closed. A lot of my deals are starting to get cashflow now.

6. Love/Connection: Helped out a few people locally at my meetup get out of a tough legal situation with a lawyer referral. Hosted a mastermind meeting with like-minded people. We had whiskey it was good fun and I think I will continue. I realized part of the reason I don’t like my W2 job is that I am surrounded by W2 mindsets and I too am a product of my peer group.

 

Distractions/Barriers/Noise/Resistance:

What I need help on: More time – need to add staff or I will just continue to be a super employee of one. Join my team!

Lessons learned:

#LaneHack – I use a lot of Gmail inbox labels. Here are some great suggestions in this article.

https://hustletostartup.com/organize-gmail/

I especially like the one about filtering all emails that have the keyword “unsubscribe” which are likely to be things trying to sell me things.

It’s not all about Money:

Flowstate – Song of the month – Avicii Bromance – Avicii died this past month 🙁 – Sign up for the Club to download 😉

Be ready for the best sunset and sunrise captures: https://sunsetwx.com/

Join the club and find out what the easter egg is…

HELOCs in Hawaii

The following downloadable cheat sheet was made for Hawaii residents but the concepts discussed are typical as it is a confusing game.

What is a HELOC (Home equity line of credit)?
A line of credit where the collateral is the existing equity in your home. Think of a credit card where your max limit is a portion of your equity in your home with some actually good rates.

Pros:
It’s a line of credit where if you don’t use it there is no interest being accrued.
Low-interest rate because it is seen as a low risk loan from the banks perspective
A good way to get access to liquidity in a pinch. Especially when starting a new investing strategy and need proof of concept.

Cons:
There is a possibility of the bank calling a loan due or changing the terms as the economy changes
Its not the best way of using equity because you should just sell the asset and be deleveraging into more fixed debt (very counter-intuitive I know but most things are)

What is LTV?
Loan to value. So if your home is worth $100,000 and you have $50,000 left on your mortgage then your LTV is 50%.

I’m confused… this all sounds great but just tell me what to do
Option 1: Initiate a HELOC with Aloha Pacific CU for 1yr @ 0.5%. Then either go with ASB or CPB. They both will cover up to $500 for early termination with Aloha Pacific (which would be some of the closing costs that were waived) and no annual fee. For ASB, as long as you have $2500/month in direct deposits then there are no other fees – setup an automatic transaction from another bank recurring every month to take care of that, extra credit if you send that same $2,000 right back a few days later (that’s almost like money laundering). At the time of origination, can check rates to see if you go with another 1 yr (with ASB) or 2yr (with CPB). If you need to do a third time – a few years out, then go with whichever one you didn’t go with for the second HELOC. These rates change and so do the fee structures so try to learn this stuff and connect with other investors. A good way to do that is come to have a beer with other sophisticated investors at ReiAloha. Notice CPB is put in the 2nd order because they will waive the cancellation fees from the host bank prior. Yes, we thought this out like the Sunday arm chair quarterback strategies-out the running back rotation of the Denver Broncos.
Option 2 (for the lazy): Although this is not optimizing the rates this method is a little simpler if your time is so valuable like you are coming up with the cure to some rare form of cancer. Take the lowest of the 2-3 year HELOCs and just go with them. This minimizes movement and makes your life simpler. Perhaps it makes your life so simpler that you free up time and mental bandwidth to invest in real assets such as rental real estate or passive syndications?

I’m still confused… walk me through a real-life example
Someone who just did this with a credit union… for a $200k loan, the closing cost was about $1200 (which were covered by the cu) and he paid $700 for an appraisal. He intends to hold for 3 yrs, so he didn’t get much details on how much of the closing costs he would have to pay back…. for this scenario, we estimate that all $1200 and would have to be paid (which $500 of that would be covered by the new lender).

Thoughts about appraisals
In order to cut costs some banks will do a desk review to determine the value of your property. This usually is more conservative figure and hurts you because you want your home to appraise for the most that it can in order to qualify for the biggest loan. These desk reviews utilize the tax assessed value which usually lower than if you paid $500 for a real appraisal or a cheaper “drive-by” appraisal. Sometimes it might be worth it to pay the extra fees to get a real appraisal instead of the lazy man method. It might be obvious but have a conversation on which appraisal is being used or be disappointed like when Coke switched your C&H sugar for corn syrup.

What about for a high leverage option (above 80%+) and low leverage option or will all of them not touch higher than 80%?
Higher leverage HELOC are available but not openly published. The author of this guide did not want to waste their time finding such fringe data since it changes so much and did not want to wait of a consultation from another bank employee. The collaborator did note that Hawaii State FCU was one of the few Credit Unions that openly published a higher LTV (up to 95%). Note – Hawaii banks are much more conservative on appraisals and terms than on the mainland. You may want to have a bank on the mainland if they will give a HELOC out of state. Typically anyone can get into most Credit Union after all they just want your money to sit in their bank paying you 0.01%. Sometimes you just have to donate $10 to some friends of the library account to gain membership.

Thoughts about fees
Be cognizant of closing costs are. The credit unions don’t have an early termination fee, however, you got to pay back closing costs. For the banks, there is a $500 termination fee and rates are higher, but maybe a better route if you got to pay back waived closing costs with the credit unions… especially since ASB and CPB will cover up to $500 early termination.

Why are you doing this?
Equity in your home is lazy money. It is not yielding a return and in fact it is a liability for lawsuits. The wealthy try to control everything and own nothing (encumber their assets with debt). In addition, typical investment yields range from 12-25% for stable, cashflowing assets, that hold their value even if the economy weakens.

Fine tuning:
“At some point you are going to ask the following: Assuming the delta between the one and two year helot is 1% and we are talking about a 200k loan… That’s 2k. Is it worth it to run around one afternoon and move stuff around online???

Are you going with the one year one first then get the two year from the next one? At this point it may make sense to get on a coaching call for 30 minutes to get an expert opinion.

Also it is possible to get a HELOC on a non-owner occupied home (rental property) but if you are considering so read this… simplepassivecashflow.com/roe”

Conclusion
Overall the process is pretty painless. You might have to run around looking for your mortgage files, HOA documents, or insurance but once setup it works just like another checking account.

Download link

Podcast #115 – Flipping to passive rentals with Mark Ferguson

YouTube Link

Text “simple” to 314-665-1767 to download the Hui Google Drive files and the 2018 Rental Property Analyzer

For a free electronic version of my bestselling book in 12+ categories text the word “ebook” to 587-317-6099.

Please help the show by leaving a review: http://getpodcast.reviews/id/1118795347

Join the Hui Deal Pipeline Club! SimplePassiveCashflow.com/club

Pardon the grammar – I’m an Engeneer, Enginere, Engenere… I’m good with math!

________Here are the Show Notes________

Aside from blog, owns 15 rental properties in Northern Colorado generating $7K/mo passive income.

Harder to cash flow around Denver. Looking out-of-state.

Since Sept 2015, has not purchased new SFH. Focusing on commercial, flipping, which was best use of time.

Always demand for low-end flips (less risk v. high-end).

Write own goals, don’t rely on other people, and think differently to develop himself.

Don’t C.E.F. – especially if you’re not a contractor.

Some opportunities in purchasing primary residential properties, but not going to stay there forever.

If you want to be creator and sell houses full-time, get a real estate license. If part-time, not really recommeneded unless you own a couple properties already and can expend time.

Goals for more passive income ($100k/mo) and freedom = happy.

Change your mindset and try. Otherwise, you’re stuck where you are (ex: frugal). What’s your motivation and dreams?

Let people drink their haterade.

Tough to let go, but happier to save time by hiring out on blog, website, e-mail, property management, etc.

Not a tech-savvy guy, but build blog and all that SEO!

Wished more good people to hire directly instead of 3rd parties.

Don’t force yourself to buy something – especially in a sellers market.

Are you taking action that’s getting closer to your goals or treading water? Take time for yourself.

Always lot of stuff to do, but don’t stress about it. A couple mistakes or not getting things done will not ruin you.

First blog comment was fulfilling. Drives motivation on how to help give back to others.

Check out www.investfourmore.com and podcast. 453 articles and 117 podcasts.

Contact info: Mark@investfourmore.com

 

Podcast #114 – Jennifer Beadles – Turning Active income into passive income in a Primary market

YouTube Link: https://youtu.be/KrOhA6xv6rc? sub_confirmation 1

Text “simple” to 314-665-1767 to download the Hui Google Drive files and the 2018 Rental Property Analyzer

For a free electronic version of my bestselling book in 12+ categories text the word “ebook” to 587-317-6099.

Please help the show by leaving a review: http://getpodcast.reviews/id/1118795347

Join the Hui Deal Pipeline Club! SimplePassiveCashflow.com/club

Pardon the grammar – I’m an Engeneer, Enginere, Engenere… I’m good with math!

________Here are the Show Notes________

Income has a cap
Bought first house at 21
Take business profits into buy and hold rentals
Say out of Seattle
Mount Vernon WA
Tell the agent in super simple terms
Comments on meetups
Should i get started now?

Podcast #113 – Buck Joffrey – Medical Surgeon gets fired and goes into freefall

For the limited offer coaching from Buck and program: Simplepassivecashflow.com/buck

Video Version: https://youtu.be/jq0MhXDEzzA

Audio Version: https://youtu.be/TUmVLqNNtlE

 



Text “simple” to 314-665-1767 to download the Hui Google Drive files and the  2018 Rental Property Analyzer

For a free electronic version of my bestselling book in 12+ categories text the word “ebook” to 587-317-6099.

Please help the show by leaving a review: http://getpodcast.reviews/id/1118795347

Join the Hui Deal Pipeline Club! SimplePassiveCashflow.com/club

Pardon the grammar – I’m an Engeneer, Enginere, Engenere… I’m good with math!

________Here are the Show Notes________

 

We heard you on podcast 17 and you told your story – http://simplepassivecashflow.com/podcast-17-serial-entrepreneur-dr-buck-joffery-wealthformula-podcast/

Hearing your story high paid doctor. Describe yourself as an employee?

Great butt kisser

Lane’s getting fired story

So you were fired what gave you the security to not go back?

Lane’s getting fired story

 

http://richhabits.net/catastrophes-reveal-inner-greatness/?mc_cid=610082b2da&mc_eid=a129173ca3

 

Why professionals are trained to go through the system

 

The two excuses why not to leave the professional system

 

Wealth formula – Mass (money) x Velocity (Leverage) = wealth

 

You need to make money

 

What happen to assisted living project?

 

Taking shots and trying things out? Where is the transition point from taking singles to going to homers?

 

We are talking about Jorge from Simplepassivecashflow.com/ahp

 

SPC listeners are usual creatures. Get me in a room with a bunch of W2 workers talking about their frequent flier miles and their cars and I’m completely turned off. What are your thoughts on coping with this?

 

What are some ways you teach the entrepreneurial spirit with your kids?

 

What if they just want to work for the man or do peace corps?

 

Simplepassivecashflow.com/buck to get the free 1-hour coaching offer from Buck.

—————————————————–

 

Our worst W2 moments which were our Han Solo Moments

 

How to make it as a medical professional? – Kiss Butt 😁

 

We are robots.

 

For more content go to Simplepassivecashflow.com/buck

QRP – Qualified Retirement Plans & Free Book

I personally don’t like these QRPs or qualified retirement plans (Roth-IRA, Solo 401ks, etc) if you are an active real estate investor. But if you have money locked up in an old IRA or 401k this is a great way to get that money out to invest in your deals or syndications.

 

If you are conservatively using prudent leverage and finding decent deals there is no reason you should not be able to retire in 10 years or less and thus negating the very reason for these accounts. I don’t know about you but I want access to this money to play with well before I am sixty-something.

When you have money in these accounts it sounds good that you are not taxed on gains but you are restricted from getting a Fannie Mae loan. Using the QRP loans get you the second tier financing options, for example, a Roth IRA can buy real estate on leverage, however, will need a non-recourse loan which is often a fraction high-interest rate and lower LTV. No Bueno!

Info on using retirement funds for syndication deals:

Question: I am considering investing in a 506c investment on a multifamily property. They are raising a 1 million from investors, then getting a loan and making improvements to the property and repositioning it over 5-7 years. I wanted to use my funds from my SEP IRA which is currently in a qualified intermediary trust. What is the UBIT tax? Will I be subject to that on this deal? Also, should I set up an LLC that then loans the money to their LLC? How can I structure this for tax and liability benefits?

Answer [Note: From CPA and not this is NOT legal or professional advice]: When you invest in a business (syndicate = business) with your IRA, the IRA will be subject to UBIT (unrelated business income tax) and UDFI (unrelated debt financed income).

For our purposes, UDFI is produced when an IRA uses debt to purchase real estate. Essentially, the portion of the property’s income considered UDFI is based on the percentage of rental income derived from debt.

For example, Property A is purchased for $100,000. You put down 25% of the purchase price as a down payment and finance the remaining 75% with a traditional mortgage from the bank. The property produces $10,000 in net income for the year. $7,500 (75%) of the net income is considered UDFI and is subject to UBIT.

There is a deduction for the first $1,000 of income subject to UBIT. Income subject to UBIT over $1,000 is taxed at trust rates. For 2017, trust tax rates start at 15% and max out at 39.6% after just $12,400 of income subject to UBIT.

UBIT is paid by the IRA account. If for whatever reason UBIT is paid directly by the taxpayer, the amount paid is considered a contribution to the IRA.

Follow up question: Is there any difference in how the UDFI will apply for these:
1) SD IRA
2) SEP-IRA
3) Solo 401K
4) SD IRA (operated as an LLC) so this one is confusing… My LLC owns an LLC (syndication) which owns a property such as 150-unit on 123 main street

Question: I’m trying to decide if one is better than another for tax purposes?

Answer: The solo 401(k) is not subject to UDFI but it subject to UBIT. The IRAs are all subject to UBIT and UDFI. Note that generally the passive income flowing back to you is very low and the, as a result, we don’t see a huge UBIT tax.

Another idea would be to take a debt position (lending) rather than equity. The interest you would receive is free of UBIT and UDFI tax.

(This suggestion of a “debt” position or note investment with the SEP IRA to avoid UBIT and UDFI tax is a creative one… but it’s a very low chance of happening because it’s just too complicated and honestly not worth the effort from the syndicators’ side. It’s a very similar case of to a Tenant-In-Common (TIC) arrangement where an investor has 1031 exchange funds and wants to parlay that money into a syndication. It’s possible but from the syndicator’s perspective a lot of unneeded work when you can just raise the funds the traditional way. Caveat: if you are bringing in a huge amount of money say 50% of the raise then that might tip the scales in your favor)

Ask you can tell this is a really grey area. One CPA mentioned, the answer depends on how you structured the syndication, UBIT may or may not apply for the real estate holding for solo 401k. I would really try to toss the Operation Agreement to your individual CPAs to examine and determine ahead of time as I am not a CPA 😉

Caveat: If you are late to the game and already have a fat 401k then you should convert it to a solo401k. At that point, you should think about putting it into a syndication since you are restricted on how you can leverage it.

So if you are going to have one of these QRP accounts since you have an old 401K or old retirement accounts want to self-direct it in good investments and don’t want to take a huge tax hit right away set up a Solo401k or Checkbook control.

Get set up here or ask me for a warm email intro.

And get the free book on QRPs!

SPC110 – My Story – Evictions, Flip Project, Market Updates

YouTube Link: https://youtu.be/BXbgwbCcTnw

Text “simple” to 314-665-1767 to download the Hui Google Drive files and the 2018 Rental Property Analyzer

For a free electronic version of my bestselling book in 12+ categories text the word “ebook” to 587-317-6099.

Please help the show by leaving a review: http://getpodcast.reviews/id/1118795347

Join the Hui Deal Pipeline Club! SimplePassiveCashflow.com/club

Pardon the grammar – I’m an Engeneer, Enginere, Engenere… I’m good with math!

________Here are the Show Notes________

Dealing with an eviction:

“Hi Lane! I delivered an evection notice to tenants yesterday and had the opportunity to speak with husband at the door. He stated that he and his wife had both started new jobs and would be able to make one full payment in a week (this was the story for seemingly a month or two) and would be able to make a partial payment in 10 days. Before we proceeded forward with an agreement, wanted to see if that works for you. They are currently $3,000 behind before for a total of two months.  

Here is what I did…

I okayed the concession to give more time. I requested some sort of proof of new job status (a hire letter or email). I am more than willing to work with people… These have been long tenants of almost a couple years and B+ /A- home that rents for $1500 a month.

Caveat… I am really near to selling these properties this year and don’t really want to rock the boat in terms of enforcing long-term behavior.

Revamping my turnkey rental content – simplepassivecashflow.com/turnkey

I have currently sold 2 of 10 SFH rentals (P&L offer)

One of them Columbia is had $27K to get back online. Going to pay 37K to sell retail.

Another property Riverwood just went vacant. Going to pay 20-30K to sell retail too.

  • Talked with my team – PM, Contractor, couple other hui members
  • Is it a good area to go retail
  • Will I recoup capital overlay based on comps

Soon I will unrolling my private lending platform. CrowdfundAloha.com! So if you are looking for a 1st lien property with my partners let me know. We are talking about even providing turnkey services.

This is not really a money making things cause the margins are just really tough these days.

After over 1000 strategy calls with investors and coaching clients over the past couple years here is what I tell W2 employees… For those who are able to save more than $30k a year or have substantial liquidity (over 200k), being a landlord and especially flipping is a lot of work. If you like it cool/good for you… but just remember why we got into this… To be free from a JOB. A lot of us (80%) who stumble upon simplepassivecashflow.com and start drinking Kool-Aide will be financially free in 4-7 years pending taking action. So I always urge people to start with the end in mind and take a more passive approach.

Do the math here… you with 300 dollars per property (2 months of work to buy a turnkey rental) you are going to need 20-40 of these to replace your income. I have 10 of these and have systems in place but have 1-2 evictions a year and 3-4 big things that happen. Image if I had 30, just 3 x those numbers.

Directly investing in a turnkey rental or small MFH is a good way to start to learn and build up the war chest to go into my scaleable investments such as private placement syndications. Whatever you do, try to be as close to the investment as possible. This is the fundamental problem I have with Wall Street who takes too much fees off the hard-working efforts of the middle class.

Looking at some deals. So folks in the Hui Deal Pipeline Club (who have reached out to me and built a relationship) will see those really soon. 😛 I hope I have enough liquidity… I might need to borrow some money 😛

Single Family Homes becoming a legitimate asset class – Spring 2018 Conference

The lending requirements and new loan products is slowly changing. I know a lot of you have heard that Short Term Rentals (Air Bnb) income is starting to become part of the loan calculations.

Something I’m following is lending on large portfolios of single-family homes. Some of the highlights:

1) up to 10-year term with 1.25 DSCR

2) portfolios minimum size of 50 properties

3) assumable

Pilot program details download here – https://drive.google.com/open?id=1aTIbru2HEPbw_KLHTvU5-Iyk0aoQB8Gx

Look even a SFH conference – https://drive.google.com/open?id=1cI15DnBUn8LRA54NTCh667exeR3OtlIu

Other Fannie Changes – https://drive.google.com/open?id=1WumUWsduuLnHqDi6IJXNipX7IsT9AUFa

AirBnb lending requirements loosening

I read this following article that described rent concession in a few major cities that I like as apartment markets.

http://www.nreionline.com/multifamily/more-apartment-landlords-offer-free-rent-lure-tenants

Here is another article citing industrial as the sector to be in:

http://www.nreionline.com/industrial-cre-market-study/exclusive-research-clear-sailing-industrial-sector-through-2018

My takeaway is that this is important to monitor especially if you are developing because this is a leading indicator of softness in the market. It might be economic reasons or just because a bunch of new build inventory is coming online in that area. Either way…

Robert Kiyosaki has a saying, “there are three sides to a coin”.

People argue that its a good time to buy or bad time to buy. For example “mfh” is overheated or commercial is getting killed by Amazon and e-commerce. I think these are mental justifications by tire kickers not to do anything.

Sophisticated investors live on the edge of the “coin”. They buy deals out our reach of amateurs due to the lack for network/knowledge. These opportunities are undervalued, with undermarket rents, with value-add opportunity.

They are patient and don’t stray from standards that make them get crushed in a market correction. (Cashflow from other investments make this possible) They invest following the macro and micro trends and don’t gamble on gimmicks such as guessing where Amazon’s next HQ is going or where the hurricanes just crushed a market.

The trouble is as an outsider is figuring out which of these deals transcends the two side of coin and is on the edge. And starting out its going to be slim pickings due to lack of network but you have to push through this rough part.

I am from the camp that you need to become an expert or get beyond the surface level investor stuff in some freebie pdf guide or video. Or just find the right people to work with. To many people get shinny object syndrome and float from sector to sector, from a money-making activity to another, read book after book and never get anywhere. You see these people at a lot of networking events. There is a lot of movement but no tangible results. This is where coaching comes in but for some people not able to get over having another person call them out on their BS you need to get laser focused and take massive action or quit fooling yourself.

I’ll be at the notebuyerbootcamp on the panel for syndication in Chicago next week. Notebuyerbootcamp.com

Turnkey Rental Wisdom (2012-2018)

Dear prospective turnkey investor,

The following is my constantly updated guide to turnkey. (Updated 4-2018) Email me for any additions or feedback. In the spirit of the Hui Deal Pipeline Club where we crowdsource due diligence together!

I don’t flip or wholesale or do any of that. I have a w-2 job and not looking for another job or chore. I am all about leveraging my money and more importantly, time. For people like you and me who live in places (Seattle, West Coast, Hawaii, East Coast, to name a few) where the Rent to Value ratio is 0.5% or less we have no other option. It drives me crazy when the Real Investor Peanut Gallery (internet forums know for big pockets small wallet) say we are overpaying… well if I didn’t have a life and I had the time to lick stamps and swindle distressed buyers I could buy a distressed property at discount too and probably do it better 😉

I don’t know about you, but I have full time professional job that earns more per hour than most folks even in real estate and more than these Turn Key providers do. So I’m like sure… I’ll pay retail and rely on their volume and expertise. But you have to find the right ones. Investing for cashflow is not a get rich quick schedule but a prudent way to build lasting wealth a few hundred dollars at a time.

Today I buy apartment buildings like this 193 unit in San Antonio where I work with deal finding specialist on my team but it took me almost ten years to get there.

 

When I started this blog/podcasts I was totally into these Turnkey Rentals. I even started to blog on a couple of them in detail:

Rental #4 – Birmingham

Rental #5 – Birmingham

I moved onto bigger more scaleable assets mostly because of stuff like this happening every few months:

“I do have some unfortunate news.  My crew showed up this morning and there was an empty police car in the driveway along with a note from the officer.  Overnight, the outdoor section of the AC unit was cut and stolen (no sign of breaking in).  My crew said he spoke with the neighbors (to the right of the home) and at about 1-2 in the morning a black truck was going around the neighborhood cutting AC units and taking them.  The neighbors called the police and they came out to do their work.  I called the Dekalb County Police and asked them what I would need to do and what the next steps are.  They said, if we want a copy of the police report to come down to the office and present them the case number and if there is any news they would let us know.  I have attached photos of the card the police officer left along with photos of the damage.  It is very unfortunate and I do apologize this happening.  The AC just got inspected and serviced yesterday and everything else is running smooth.  I am waiting to hear back from the HVAC tech about what it is going to replace the missing unit and repairs to the lines, once I receive the service report.  I will be sure to keep you up to date with any news or information.  Please let me know if you have any questions.  Once again, thank you for your time and I do hate that this has happened.”

As much as I poke fun at the asset class and jokingly call it “turkey” instead of turnkey rentals it all started here and is the foundation of my investing portfolio.

 

When I first started buying the rehabs done by the turnkey guys in the blue collar areas, if you posted “hey I’m looking for turnkey” in the forums you get the usual suspects soliciting you for marked up properties. It’s off market because they rehab it for the investor with more durable and less visually appealing materials than your normal retail product. I’m all for the wholesaler to make money because they do spend a lot of time and money on mailers and advertising but the layers of middlemen who add no value is excessive and is almost as bad as Wall Street.

I bought my first couple rentals back in 2009-2012 in Seattle (Primary market/no cashflow). As the prices started going up I was forced to go out of my comfort zone and purchase out of state rents because I needed cashflow in order to achieve my goal of replacing my W2 income as an engineer. I bought one I Birmingham, without seeing it and set up a professional property management company to manage the day to day. That was proof of concept for me to sell my two Seattle rentals and buy 9 Properties in 5 Months via 1031 Exchange.

I work with a lot of engineers and a lot of them say they get analysis paralysis because they like data. I call them out of it and tell them they are just scared and losing $500 of opportunity costs and time per month! A real engineer would look at the numbers. IF rent minus expenses (with contingency) minus mortgage is greater than THEN fricken do it!

Example of capital expenses that need to account for in your expenses and contingency.

Let me be clear, I don’t flip or wholesale or do any of that. I have a W2 job and not looking for another job or chore. I am all about leveraging my money and more importantly, time. For people like you and me who live in places (Seattle, West Coast, Hawaii, East Coast, to name a few) where the Rent to Value ratio is 0.5% or less we have no other option.

It drives me crazy when the Real Investor Peanut Gallery (internet forums) say we are overpaying… Our time is better spent at our high paid professions that we busted out buts going through a couple decades of schooling for.

My full-time professional job that earns more per hour than most folks even in real estate and more than these Turn Key providers do. So I’m like “Sure… I’ll pay retail and rely on their volume and expertise.” Its all about leveraging your highest and best use, which maybe your day job.  Sorry.

The problem is that you have to find the right property and people to work with. And have a mentor so you are not getting screwed. Investing for cashflow is not a get rich quick schedule but a prudent way to build lasting wealth a few hundred dollars at a time.

When I first started buying the rehabs done by the turnkey guys in the blue collar areas, if you posted “hey I’m looking for turnkey” in the forums you get the usual suspects soliciting you for marked up properties. It’s off market because they rehab it for the investor with more durable and less visually appealing materials than your normal retail product. I’m all for the wholesaler to make money because they do spend a lot of time and money on mailers and advertising but the layers of middlemen who add no value is excessive and is almost as bad as Wall Street.

“I don’t work with top tier turnkey providers…. For the same reason I don’t buy a Dyson Vacuum.. I’m cheap and buy value and buy the sub-100 dollar Shark brand from costco with the excellent return policy.”

These days’ people in the Hui Private group are not on internet forums. They say its 95% of active people who are not high paid professionals and marketers. Here is some of the chatter:

 

The most important thing to do is to grow your network.

So you can bounce ideas off other investors and not a salesperson. I still do free calls but please review the free content I have put on this website first. No, I do not just give recommendations to good people to buy from because things change and I am not going to throw my brand around like that. And by the way that’s an “ask-hole.” I know your character and the trajectory of your success but how you add value to others first instead of taking first. Some people are unaware of this which is why I’m saying something so I aplogize. This could be the reason why people are not helping you out and you feel like a lone wolf.

Webinar with 2018 trends is sent out to Hui Deal Pipe Line Club members sign up below:

I don’t really see much difference in the secondary markets with robust economies (Memphis, Kansas City, Birmingham, Atlanta, to name a few). I have tried to set things up so my different markets complement each other. For the most part I buy in the 1.1-1.3% RV range. I take home 70% in 2015 but now in 2017, I buy in the 0.9-1.1% RV range and take home 60% of the rents after all expenses (vacancy and Cap ex).

I made this diagram in 2016 and it illustrates some of the popular “secondary markets with robust economies” that a lot of out of state turnkey buyers like to invest in. Things have changed a little but as you can see you can either have appreciation or cashflow. It’s tough to get the best of both worlds.

I stress NOT to spend too much picking a market. If you sign up for the newsletter as a Hui member you will get more than enough data to create analysis paralysis. The biggest thing you can do is vet the people. As you can see the same principle is what I use in my syndication due diligence: 50% people & 50% the numbers of the deal.

There are three ways to purchase a turnkey rental:

  • Marketer – I would not recommend going through a marketer, they don’t even invest themselves and they did not add any value. The only one I can recommend is Marco but that is because I know like and trust the guy. By the time I bought my 3rd rental I knew way more than those folks did. Unfortunately, I probably overpaid by a few grand on each of those first few properties not knowing what I don’t know, Work with me only if you want to compress time and want me to look over your shoulder to get my unbiased opinions and guidance. Plus you will be setup with a plan and not shoot yourself in the foot like I did by buying a dozen non-scalable investments.
  • Direct from Turnkey Provider – You cut out the middleman and go direct to the source, theoretically getting the best price. Just know that you are not represented by a broker who supposedly has a fiduciary responsibility to you. (BTW never trust a broker) The transactions are done with their paperwork and their rules. They are the pros and it’s dangerous for a newbie to go down this route. There are household Turnkey Providers (TKPs) out there but I call them the “Prada of Providers”. You pay for what you get and often times more than what it’s worth – I’ll just say you are paying over 105% of retail.
  • Hybrid method – When I was going through my buying spree in 2015-2016, I was going (off market) via an agent that had a fiduciary responsibility to me to check all the BS that the providers give you – this is what I recommend only after going through the process a few times. Usually, the agent helping you is not an investor and does not really know what type of amenities/floor plans and locations are best for rentals. You will need to drive the ship. Note: I see brokers all the time trying to sell junk to new investors.
  • Another cool site out there is Roofstock which is where I sold my turnkey rentals to step up to syndications. Use the link get a $500 credit when you register… They give me $50 credit but I don’t think I will buy another turnkey rental again ;P

You seemed bored reading… There is no such thing as turnkey. Check out these disaster photos from an eviction that ended up being a $37K repair bill… https://photos.app.goo.gl/R4PZLuOLGHONO5Rl2

As I was in the middle of my 1031 buying spree (#6 of 11), a lot of TKPs started to come out of the woodwork and offered their properties to me and gave me the royal treatment (discounted prices from what they normally offer). I got to meet a lot of them via meetups and national conferences because I had this podcast and they were interested in getting at the Hui Deal Pipeline Club ecosystem. Since I was pretty experienced and they liked working with me they offered me referral fees to simply send guys like you over to them with a simple “CC’ed” email. Sort of like a referral source where they would give me $1000 per home sold. I thought it made sense for them because it was a lot cheaper than paying $6000+ to a Marketer (#1 above), but as you know when you go with a marketer or this sort of referral program the buyer (you) don’t really get any value add.

Personally, I’m not really into picking up $1000 referral checks and passing you off to the TKP (never to hear from you again) since I’m more looking to give back to other investors and build my network for my larger syndication deals in the Hui Deal Pipeline Club. I think turnkey rentals are ok for people starting.

After over 1000 strategy calls with investors and coaching clients over the past couple years here is what I tell W2 employees… For those who are able to save more than $30k a year or have substantial liquidity (over 200k), being a landlord and especially flipping is a lot of work. If you like it cool/good for you… but just remember why we got into this… To be free from a JOB. A lot of us (80%) who stumble upon simplepassivecashflow.com and start drinking Kool-Aide will be financially free in 4-7 years pending taking action. So I always urge people to start with the end in mind and take a more passive approach.

“I have B- class rentals and high that rent for at least $900 a month and I am still having a hard time selling dang properties to other cheapo investors”

 

Do the math here… you with 300 dollars per property (2 months of work to buy a turnkey rental) you are going to need 20-40 of these to replace your income. I have 10 of these and have systems in place but have 1-2 evictions a year and 3-4 big things that happen. Image if I had 30, just 3 x those numbers.

Directly investing in a turnkey rental or small MFH is a good way to start to learn and build up the war chest to go into my scaleable investments such as private placement syndications. Whatever you do, try to be as close to the investment as possible. This is the fundamental problem I have with Wall Street who takes too much fees off the hard-working efforts of the middle class.

I currently work with one business who I can align with because they offer sort of a hybrid between the marketers (I know you know the reasons why to stay away from them) and going straight to the TKPs since you lose a lot of the protections when you do that and it’s sort like signing agreements in the “wild wild west”. The reason I do it this way is that I get a licensed agent that has a fiduciary responsibility to your best interests and guides you through the transaction as you buy through the TKP. Basically, it’s like having MLS agent to cover you for the off market deals. All the properties are aggregated from only the good TKPs and the same price that you will find on the weekly digest that is sent out by the local TKP. This is the way I buy my properties and if nothing else it’s good for browsing what’s out there.

Can you please recommend a good turnkey provider? You said you would help…

The short answer is not really. A provider will try to size you up and try to pull a fast one on you when they get the chance. I will not endorse anyone! The only way to protect yourself is to network with other investors by providing value first – if you are a cheapo. If your net worth is over $300K, have at least $50k liquid, and have a time crunch (kids) I think it’s a no brainer get me on your team and stop screwing around.

There is really no reason why you cannot put in an offer on a property and start collecting $300 a month with a $25K down payment in under 90 days. Someone who is still “reading”, “contacting investors”, or “picking a market” frankly lacks focus (finish one course until success) or scared of making a move. Every day you don’t do anything is $500 a month of opportunity costs!

My rentals in Seattle were cash flowing each with $600-800 a month but it was because I bought at the right time and I did not look at the numbers like a sophisticated investor does. Although my cashflow was good (bad in terms of percentages) I realized that my return on deployable equity was very low, in fact it was under 5%. Now each rental I get typical cash flows by $350 but I think of it like $250 to be conservative and more importantly, my money is not being lazy. I think if you’re making less than 8 percent you’re better off in the stock market despite my aversion toward stocks or mutual funds. A sophisticated investor does not say “well… at least I’m able to cover my mortgage”. They are constantly monitoring their return on equity.

I wasted a lot of time in 2012-2013 looking for rentals in King, Snohomish, and Pierce County (Washington state) and nothing cash flowed. I still have the spreadsheets where I underwrote how crappy the Cashflow was. Now prices are even worse.

I helped dozens of people with this out of state investing game and have pretty much figured it out after making a bunch of mistakes that I didn’t realize till later – this is why it makes me laugh with the “do it yourselfers”.

One mistake I see people making is going after these sucker properties that only can be sold to “Californians,” “Hawaiians,” or any rich person not from the area perceived to have trees that money grows on, from a trust fund, and drink seven Mai Tais on the beach everyday. (Personal Note – I have lived in Hawaii for about six months now and I have only been the beach twice).

These types of people (not follows of SimplePassiveCashflow.com) like to pay a plumber for ten hours to fix a small toilet leak.

Sucker properties are in the wrong area that none of the locals would touch with a ten-foot pole. They are C or D class properties that the Broker calls “B-Class or good area” and usually cost sub $60K for $750 rents a month.

“It may look good on paper but stick to rents that are higher than $900 a month”

The second thing I see newbies doing is buying 2-8 unit properties after hearing all the good things about multi-family and scaling. I think most highly paid professionals will graduate to syndications (which is why I structure business and own investing around them) and therefore will need to sell these SFHs to move up. The exit strategy on selling 2-8+ just is not there. They look good on paper but the exit strategy kills you. If you are thinking you are going to hold on to these properties for cashflow for 7+years think again because that is not what sophisticated investors do because they monitor their ROE and they know the cap-ex tidal wave will hit them in year 5-12 taking back all those profits from the earlier years.

How many turnkey homes are people buying. Here is one data set I found from one popular turnkey provider. Takeaway – most (82%) get a few properties and the rest don’t get it or are too lazy.

The main thing is building the relationships and knowing who has the integrity out there. More importantly, you have to buy a few and go through the process of buying/selling and operating a while to learn how this mouse trap works. Tactically, it’s no different than what I have learned in corporate America (although I’m trying to leave the rat race) by setting expectations and keeping people accountable via email remotely. Trust but verify and financial freedom will be yours.

 

Frequently asked questions:

FAQ from past coaching clients and questions you ask:

Where is your spreadsheet with turnkey providers because I am lazy and want to just copy what someone else does?

That might have been smart a few years ago but things have changes and good providers have gone out of business or more expensive. You don’t need to be a super active investor but by not putting a minimal amount of effort you are shortchanging yourself the necessary lessons that will minimize a big mistake down the road. If you need the provider list sign up for the Hui Deal Pipeline club and it is in that share drive.

What’s the deal with REI Trader and the partnership with Simple Passive Cashflow?

I would do your own due-diligence and learn about rentals by talking to as many people as you can.

I know eventually you will find that working with my team is the going to be the optimal path forward as I am committed to mentoring you as an investor so you will continue on this investor journey to bigger and better deals.

I stand behind REI Trader and support you through the entire buying process – I don’t just pass you off to the Turn Key provider and say peace out…

The properties have good value for the purpose of rental real estate. The due-diligence that we do after the purchase contract is signed is the secret sauce and the unfair advantage over other turnkey options. Yes, there are a few perennial Turn Key companies however you will pay over market rates (110% retail).

The broker that helps you with boots on the ground with REI Trader is property agnostic. In fact, they don’t care if you buy that property or not.  We know you will buy the right one eventually.  We want to build a relationship with you the investor. Most clients buy one property, come back for more, and tell their friends.

Where do I find tax information in Birmingham?

http://eringcapture.jccal.org/caportal/CAPortal_MainPage.aspx?IsHTTPS=0&IFrameURL=CA_PropertyTaxSearch.aspx

Should I be concerned about a septic system?

Do you know if it was inspected after you purchased? What future maintenance should I expect? Will the property management company know when it needs regular maintenance?            A lot of properties have septic in Center Point and most PMs have this down to a system. We went through this including myself as before.

On another property the investor hired his own septic tank inspection. They checked in and said it was not working but when we sent our own service out to reconfirm, it was working as required. Often some of these third-party services are not as honest as they should be with out of state buyers. Regardless, the home warranty you receive covers septic service. This is just an FYI for future purchases where a septic tank is involved. This property is on city sewer so we don’t have these issues.

How much and what comprises the attorney’s fees that will be split 50/50?       

Typically, on financed transactions it’s about $650 split 50/50.

What if there are issues getting an inspection(s) completed with tenant in place?           

This is an issue with the seller not being easy to work with and could be grounds for you to back out.

If there are delays, we then have both parties agree to an extension of the inspection period with an addendum. Only time this happens is if your inspector can’t inspect and provide report back within the 14-day period.

How do I decide on an offer price?

Property in good condition and in a good area that meets the preliminary numbers go fast. Dude, it’s a sellers’ market and anyone can swoop in and grab it. I have seen the amount of turnkey buyers go up exponentially in the past few years as everyone is jumping on the band wagon. News flash incase you missed it… Real estate has been good for the past decade.

From the rehabber/flippers prospective to complete project geared more toward the retail buyer to take part of the emotional buyer market. Selling to cheapskate and annoying investors like us just does not make sense on many fronts. So don’t we a whinny investor and don’t try to make like you have leverage.

Properties that have a tenant in them are often owned by investors and non-owner occupied owners. The good thing is that it’s a numbers game and they have a profit that they are looking to get. The bad news is that the property performs as an income producing asset (that’s why you are buying it) and the sell is content holding on to it indefinitely – after all it cashflows.

Turnkey sellers will allow minimum flexibility on their pricing. Remember, they don’t have to sell and sometimes it does not make sense so move on if that’s the case. That being said, the average discounts I have seen is about $1500 off asking price. Seller is asking $69,900 and I would suggest initial offer of $67,000 and see how he responds. Point is know what is a deal and know the price.

How to handle property inspection report          

You really need a mentor or have someone look over your shoulder who has done this before and knows what is fair. Here is my advice:

Have a 5-10 minute call with the inspector. Tell him “look I know we aren’t going to get much more than 2-4K of repairs” so…

#1 would you buy this?

#2 what repairs will bite me in the next couple years?

#3 what is the best use of 2-4 of work?

#4 do you have any contractor contracts I can have?

Take this to the seller and negotiate but just know they have a line around the block waiting to buy their property sight unseen. Even without appraisal and all cash.

I want to make my own turnkey company? I know a rehabber?

Here is a spreadsheet with the math behind making your own turnkey company.

I think multi-family properties are my future 1-2 years from now.  Would you start 4-8 units or get a partner and go bigger?  

This depends on your trajectory (how much money you have and earning ability). High paid professionals I work with are going to go into bigger deals I would recommend going with SFH because you will likely sell in a few years and vault into bigger stuff. 2-8 units have a horrible exit strategy as only people who want them are cheap investors. “looking for a deal man!”
My buddy FI Fighter also calls these Turkey rentals too but I disagree with his sentiment about going for the “best assets.” I believe you can invest in undervalued value add Class C and B assets as long as you have a capped time horizon. This is why I like to look for 1975-1990 properties because our business plan is the squeeze out the last of the value of these properties with still having high single digits of cashflow as the hedge to a downward turn in the economy. You can’t really do much with a 1960’s property. You really have to go through 500-1000 deals to find one of these and you are not going to find these being in the game with only 6 months of experience and no track record. This model is not infinitely scalable (and too small for the institutions to bother with) but what small sophisticated investors are quietly doing in the 2-8 million dollar asset range.
Setup a short coaching call because it will be worth it. Don’t be like me and buy 10 of these sfhs because it will be a pain to sell them later to go into more scaleable syndications.

 

Here are more resources:

  1. *The Analyzer Video Walk Through- https://youtu.be/qr8M6NMBhRw
  2. *Download 2018 Buy & Hold Analyzer Spreadsheet – https://drive.google.com/open?id=1kMAn962d52UN-ObKNWmjT11z6gqATR1I
  3. *SPC005 – So you want to buy a Turnkey Rental – http://simplepassivecashflow.com/podcast-5-so-you…a-turnkey-rental/
  4. SPC014 – 22 questions to ask a turnkey provider – http://simplepassivecashflow.com/podcast-14-22-qu…turnkey-provider/
  5. SPC015 – 9 Turnkey listener questions Part 1 – http://simplepassivecashflow.com/podcast-15-9-turnkey-listener-questions-part-1/
  6. All the SFH related material – http://simplepassivecashflow.com/tag/sfh/

Refer me to a friend via email and I will personally send you both my spreadsheets of usual suspects of turnkey providers plus the questions I used to ask them for due diligence. And let me know if you would like a referral to my exclusive partners.

Here are the books I think you should read before moving forward.

***Put a red circle on your calendar 60 days from now and see where you get… and how much of your family’s time you waste as you consume websites, books, and podcasts.

You know what I mean ‘Jelly Bean’

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BOksW_NabEk

“I started the Hui Deal Pipeline Club because I want to see each of you get to your goals financially so you can focus on what is really important to you. There are other fundraisers out there that will train their investors down to 10-15% IRRs on crappy deals and do “deals to do deals” or to pick up acquisition fees. Between investing alongside you folks and wanted to grow my track record the right way with the best product I know you guys will keep coming back and bring your friends.”

Loan Consolidation

Do I pay off my student loans or invest?

It depends… What interest rate is your debt and how much is your return rate if you invested.

From the macro sense if your rate of return from investing is higher than the rate of interest you pay to your debt servicer then you should invest. Duh. It’s simple. If you don’t get that then that’s what’s coaching for.

Sophisticated investors are able to make 30%+ annual returns with simple rental property (More info – http://simplepassivecashflow.com/returns/). The right choice there is… Invest! What are you waiting for?

Beware your problem might be lazy equity (SimplePassiveCashflow.com/roe) and the opportunity costs are eating you alive. Oh, the cost of ignorance!

All too often I just see this “student debt” or “debt” as a really lame excuse not to get started.

Below are a few affiliate links to loan consolidation companies that can help simplify your debt payments and get your focused on making more money instead of paying off debt.

I tell people you want to minimize your money paid upfront and put money into investing so you want to structure your payments to be more drawn out. Don’t worry too much about the interest rate. Loan consolidation also makes things a little easier because time should be spent on more meaningful things than sitting in front of a computer getting a handle on this stuff. This concept was discussed on Podcast #60 – #LaneHack – Lease Don’t Buy, Push money into the future and invest – http://simplepassivecashflow.com/podcast60-lanehack-lease-dont-buy-push-money-future-invest

Company Discount
ELFI $100 back to you
SOFI $300 back to you
Common Bond None
Lend Key $250 back to you
Splash Financial $250 back to you
Laurel Road $200 back to you

Feel free to share with that young guy at the office who is buried with student debt and looking down the barrel of a 40-year career.

 

 

Quantitative Tightening in Early 2019

Quantitative Easing created $3.5 trillion from 2009 to 2014

Now “Quantitative Tightening” is coming and will drain liquidity from markets

No launch date but says late 2018 but here is the Fed’s schedule

 

Do I think there will be a slight correction but the FED is trying to get back some “dry powder” to be able to stop a monumental slide? If there is a 10% plus correction the FED will go back to QE3-QE4.

In the end, don’t freak out just buy investments that are undervalued. If you are new well sorry you need a mentor or you need to push through lukewarm turnkey deals as fast as possible.